Saturday, 2 April 2011

EASO is now Greece

Yesterday, Commissioner Malmström announced the signing of the Operating Plan for the deployment to Greece by EASO of an EU Asylum Support Team. The support team will assist Greece in its efforts to revise its asylum system and to establish a more efficient and effective one.

According to the statement, the countries offering experts as members of this team are: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, UK, Denmark and Norway.

I also noted with interest that in her announcement, the Commissioner made a specific reference to Greece’s detention policy and the physical conditions in which all detained persons are kept, recommending better use of ERF funding to improve the dramatic situation.

I’ll try to get hold of the Operating Plan to give more details on its contents in terms of duration, nature of activities, etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment